Sincronos.net Forums

Sincronos.net Forums

Nothing is permanent, everything is constant.
 
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:57 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 90 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 4:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
Having a computer-related problem you'd like input on? Or just a random question about something? Post about it here.

For the past few days my PC has been crashing whenever I try to open Photoshop. Hard. BSOD hard.

I've tried running scandisk and full system virus/spyware scans, nada. Not sure where to proceed from here.

Anyone have any ideas what might be causing this?

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:10 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
Good old uninstall/reinstall Photoshop, also maybe run a memtest.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:30 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
Zanth wrote:
Good old uninstall/reinstall Photoshop, also maybe run a memtest.

Can't uninstall Photoshop, hard BSOD reboot when I tried. :(

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 12:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:24 am
Posts: 945
Location: Oregon, USA
CWS wrote:
Zanth wrote:
Good old uninstall/reinstall Photoshop, also maybe run a memtest.

Can't uninstall Photoshop, hard BSOD reboot when I tried. :(
o_o Did you do a full scandisk (with the "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" thing)? BSOD on an uninstaller is...rather unusual, to say the least; I'd have to guess there's something else responsible for the BSOD portion, and a corrupted hard drive sector is the first thing that comes to mind.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 1:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
The Phiend wrote:
CWS wrote:
Zanth wrote:
Good old uninstall/reinstall Photoshop, also maybe run a memtest.

Can't uninstall Photoshop, hard BSOD reboot when I tried. :(
o_o Did you do a full scandisk (with the "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" thing)? BSOD on an uninstaller is...rather unusual, to say the least; I'd have to guess there's something else responsible for the BSOD portion, and a corrupted hard drive sector is the first thing that comes to mind.

To the best of my knowledge, I did.

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 5:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
CWS wrote:
The Phiend wrote:
CWS wrote:
Zanth wrote:
Good old uninstall/reinstall Photoshop, also maybe run a memtest.

Can't uninstall Photoshop, hard BSOD reboot when I tried. :(
o_o Did you do a full scandisk (with the "scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors" thing)? BSOD on an uninstaller is...rather unusual, to say the least; I'd have to guess there's something else responsible for the BSOD portion, and a corrupted hard drive sector is the first thing that comes to mind.

To the best of my knowledge, I did.
Alright, tried this again and this time it took, I must have unintentionally interrupted it last time or something. Now when I try to uninstall Photoshop I get "unable to locate uninstaller", but that's a step up from the BSOD.

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 8:18 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
Also a deal called fsc /scannow in a command window that scans your windows files for corrupted files.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
Well. I seem to have a serious problem.

PC won't boot. After the usual BIOS screens, get the following message:
Quote:
Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM. Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair.

Have the CD-ROM in question but can't seem to get to the first, or any, screen. I've tried setting it to boot from the CD but I just get the same message every time. Maybe I just don't know what I'm doing.

Suggestions?

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:24 am
Posts: 945
Location: Oregon, USA
CWS wrote:
Well. I seem to have a serious problem.

PC won't boot. After the usual BIOS screens, get the following message:
Quote:
Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM. Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair.

Have the CD-ROM in question but can't seem to get to the first, or any, screen. I've tried setting it to boot from the CD but I just get the same message every time. Maybe I just don't know what I'm doing.

Suggestions?
Offhand, if you're still getting that message after trying to boot from CD....Either it's not actually booting from the CD, or you're missing the "press any key to boot from CD" prompt that some of the Windows CDs have (it'll continue on the boot order if you don't push a key in time, taking you to the hard drive that has the problem).


In case it's the former...Try selecting the boot device from the list; I think pushing F12 when the first BIOS screen shows up does it most of the time. If that works, it should give you a list of devices to boot from, should be easy to recognize the CD-ROM, I would think.

In case it's the latter...Umm, try paying more attention and/or pushing a key if the screen is blank for a few seconds (like if the monitor settings are pushing the prompt outside the visible range at the default resolution). And then shake your fist angrily in the general direction of Microsoft HQ in Redmond, Washington (not Redmond, Oregon; you might hit me on my way to work :P ).

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:48 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
Also, I'm assuming you are unable to boot into safe mode?

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
I was able to get into the "boot from" BIOS menu, set it to boot from the CD, and got the same error message. I also get the same message when attempting to boot into safe mode.

EDIT: Okay, I've managed to get into the CD-ROM's "repair" menu as described in the error message. But I don't know where to go from here. Have a list of DOS(?) commands but don't know which one I want.

EDIT2: Ran CHKDSK; it said it found and repaired one or more errors, but still get the same error when trying to boot.

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Last edited by CWS on Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Update


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:34 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
I'm not sure if it will work or not, but from that command thing see if it will allow you to run, from the prompt: sfc /scannow

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
Zanth wrote:
I'm not sure if it will work or not, but from that command thing see if it will allow you to run, from the prompt: sfc /scannow
It doesn't recognize that command. Here's the list of the ones it does:

ATTRIB
BATCH
BOOTCFG
CD
CHDIR
CHKDSK
CLS
COPY
DEL
DELETE
DIR
DISABLE
DISKPART
ENABLE
EXIT
EXPAND
FIXBOOT
FIXMBR
FORMAT
HELP
LISTSVC
LOGON
MAP
MD
MKDIR
MORE
NET
RD
REN
RENAME
RMDIR
SET
SYSTEMROOT
TYPE

Sorry to be such an ignoramus, but...I'm really at a loss here. Like I said, I already had it run CHKDSK, but I have no clue where to go from here. I really don't want to have to reformat at this point, but...is that gonna be my only option?

In any case, thanks in advance for the input.

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:03 am 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
If it gave you a specific file that it needed I could help better, but a folder is pretty vague. Shame it cannot run the sfc, that would very likely fix your problem. When you are at the command prompt, is it on your C drive? like, C:\DIRNAME> ?


If it is, try this:

cd\Windows\System32
<Enter>

if you get a prompt of:

C:\Windows\System32>

Then try the: sfc /scannow

and see if it runs. I don't know that repair system as well as I would like, so I'm very much winging it, I have no idea at all if it will run the program if you go to the directory it is in, but the way I see it, it can't hurt and will take you like 3 minutes to try.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:17 am
Posts: 3240
Location: NoDak, U.S.A.
Zanth wrote:
If it gave you a specific file that it needed I could help better, but a folder is pretty vague. Shame it cannot run the sfc, that would very likely fix your problem. When you are at the command prompt, is it on your C drive? like, C:\DIRNAME> ?
Yeah, sorry, should have mentioned that. When starting the repair utility (by pressing 'r' at the appropriate screen after booting off the CD, as the error message suggested), it first asks me which installation of Windows I want to logon to. Since there's only one installation I just get one option:

1: C:\WINDOWS

So I press 1 <enter>, which brings me to the prompt:

C:\WINDOWS>_

where I can then enter the commands listed above.

I tried CD C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ and it did bring up that directory, but it (still) doesn't recognize sfc /scannow as a valid command. :(

_________________
Image
Image Image
Snow banner by Synkopated; Family banner by The Phiend


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:23 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
I was afraid it wouldn't let you run any other applications. I know this is fixable, and iirc, its really not that hard to fix, but I'll be damned if I can remember how to do it.

Edit 1: Totally forgot to ask, but what version of Windows are you running?

Edit 2: Poking around the tubes of knowledge, I did come across something that had also slipped my mind. When you boot of a Windows CD, and go into the install, it gives you an option to repair windows rather than do an install, mayhaps that will work?

Edit 3: Another one I found has to do with that recover console.

It says once at the command prompt type:

cd\windows\system32\config

ren system system.bak

copy\windows\repair\system

Then it should copy the system folder off the recovery disk to your hdd.

Reboot and hope for the best.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 5:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:24 am
Posts: 945
Location: Oregon, USA
Oddly enough, it seems that "system" is a file without an extension, not a folder. Which in this case is a good thing, as replacing a single file should be a lot less hectic than replacing an entire folder and all the files it may or may not have.

So I'm seconding Zanth's recommendations in reverse order :-P

Zanth wrote:
It says once at the command prompt type:

cd\windows\system32\config

ren system system.bak

copy\windows\repair\system

Then it should copy the system folder off the recovery disk to your hdd.

Reboot and hope for the best.
Since "system" is a single file, this is probably the easiest thing to try and least likely to break anything. If you happen to get an error on "ren system system.bak" because the file doesn't exist, don't worry about it; odds are high that it was afflicted by whatever chkdisk fixed and doesn't exist anymore.

Zanth wrote:
Poking around the tubes of knowledge, I did come across something that had also slipped my mind. When you boot of a Windows CD, and go into the install, it gives you an option to repair windows rather than do an install, mayhaps that will work?
I recall something of this sort too (been a long time since I've had to repair a Windows installation), and it's certainly worth a shot. And if that doesn't work...you may have to install Windows over the top of the existing installation (WITHOUT formatting). Windows might work fine after that, or it may have weird issues with your programs; but worst case it should get you going well enough to backup your files prior to a reformat.


Zanth wrote:
Totally forgot to ask, but what version of Windows are you running?
I'm 99.7% certain he's running Windows XP.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:19 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
That was just the order I found them, so, you know.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:24 am
Posts: 945
Location: Oregon, USA
Zanth wrote:
That was just the order I found them, so, you know.
I figured, but "in reverse order" amused me o_o

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: The Tech Support Thread
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2013 1:51 pm 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:53 pm
Posts: 887
Location: Over the Hills and Far Away
Lol, fair enough. :) Now I'm wondering if it worked or not, lol. I'd like a win here, since with customer's computers these past few days I'm batting zero, lol.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 90 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL